59/408. Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

 \mathbb{R}^4

At its 101st plenary meeting, on 6 June 2005, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,⁵ decided to appoint Mr. Henrique da Silveira Sardinha Pinto as a member of the Committee on Contributions for a term of office beginning on 6 June 2005 and ending on 31 December 2005, as a result of the resignation of Mr. Alvaro Gurgel de Alencar Netto.

As a result, the Committee on Contributions is composed as follows: Mr. Kenshiro AKIMOTO (*Japan*),** Mr. Meshal AL-MANSOUR (*Kuwait*),** Mr. Petru DUMITRIU (*Romania*),** Mr. David DUTTON (*Australia*),*** Mr. Paul EKORONG A DONG (*Cameroon*),*** Mr. Haile Selassie GETACHEW (*Ethiopia*),** Mr. Bernardo GREIVER (*Uruguay*),*** Mr. Hassan Mohammed HASSAN (*Nigeria*),*** Mr. Ihor V. HUMENNY (*Ukraine*),** Mr. Eduardo IGLESIAS (*Argentina*),*** Mr. David A. LEIS (*United States of America*),** Mr. Vyacheslav A. LOGUTOV (*Russian Federation*),* Mr. Bernard MEIJERMAN (*Netherlands*),* Mr. Hae-yun PARK (*Republic of Korea*),* Mr. Eduardo Manuel da Fonseca Fernandes RAMOS (*Portugal*),*** Mr. Henrique da Silveira SARDINHA-PINTO (*Brazil*),* Mr. Ugo SESSI (*Italy*)* and Mr. Wu Gang (*China*).*

59/415. Election of a member of the International Court of Justice

The General Assembly, at its 81st plenary meeting, on 15 February 2005, and the Security Council, at its 5121st meeting, on the same date, proceeded independently of one another to elect, in accordance with Articles 2 to 4, 7 to 12 and 14 and 15 of the Statute of the International Court of Justice, rules 150 and 151 of the rules of procedure of the Assembly and rules 40 and 61 of the provisional rules of procedure of the Council, Mr. Ronny Abraham (France) as a member of the Court for a term of office beginning on 15 February 2005 and expiring on 5 February 2009, as a result of the resignation of Mr. Gilbert Guillaume.

As a result, the International Court of Justice is composed as follows: Mr. Shi Jiuyong (China),*** President, Mr. Raymond Ranjeva (Madagascar),** Vice-President, Mr. Ronny Abraham (France),** Mr. Awn Shawkat Al-Khasawneh (Jordan),** Mr. Thomas Buergenthal (United States of America),* Mr. Nabil Elaraby (Egypt),* Ms. Rosalyn Higgins (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland),** Mr. Pieter Kooijmans (Netherlands),* Mr. Abdul G. Koroma (Sierra Leone),*** Mr. Hisashi Owada (Japan),*** Mr. Gonzalo Parra-Aranguren (Venezuela),** Mr. Francisco Rezek (Brazil),* Mr. Bruno Simma (Germany),*** Mr. Peter Tomka (Slovakia)*** and Mr. Vladlen S. Vereshchetin (Russian Federation).*

 ^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2005.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2006.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2007.

^{*} Term of office expires on 5 February 2006.

^{**} Term of office expires on 5 February 2009.

^{***} Term of office expires on 5 February 2012.

⁴ Decision 59/408, in section A of the *Official Records of the General Assembly, Fifty-ninth Session, Supplement No. 49* (A/59/49), vol. II, becomes decision 59/408 A.

⁵ A/59/583/Add.1, para. 4.

⁶ A/59/683-S/2005/51.